About Bill Taylor


William C. Taylor is an agenda-setting writer, speaker, and entrepreneur who has shaped the global conversation about the best ways to compete, innovate, and succeed. The arrival of his new book, Mavericks at Work, promises to once again change how companies and their leaders navigate a fast-moving world and devise strategies that win in the marketplace. Mavericks is an inspiring and effective collection of next practices that amounts to a business plan for the 21st century.

Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win is the result of in-depth access to 32 of the world's most creative and disruptive competitors-organizations that are thriving in the marketplace by rethinking the logic of how business gets done. Just weeks after its release, it became a New York Times Bestseller, a Wall Street Journal Bestseller and a BusinessWeek Bestseller, and has attracted worldwide attention and acclaim. In addition to its presence in North America, where Mavericks is already in its seventh printing, the book will be published in Europe, Australia, Japan, the rest of Asia (a Chinese-language edition), and Brazil (a Portuguese-language edition).

Mavericks has been the subject of high-profile articles, reviews, and columns in many top publications, including U.S. News & World Report, the Boston Globe, and The Economist, which called the book "a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great." The Economist also named Mavericks one of its "Books of the Year, 2006." Other accolades include: "Top Ten Business Book of The Year" (amazon.com), "Top Ten Book on Innovation and Design" (Business Week), and "2006 Picks of the Year in Business Books" (The Financial Times).

The book has also been generating big attention on the small screen. ABC's Good Morning America devoted two segments (called "Maverick Monday") to the book, and NBC's Weekend Today devoted a lengthy segment to the book's vision of the new workplace. CNBC aired a five-part series, hosted by Maria Bartiromo, called The Business of Innovation, which spotlighted a number of companies and executives drawn from the pages of Mavericks at Work, and for which Bill was an on-air commentator. CEO Exchange, the PBS series hosted by well-known television commentator Jeff Greenfield, devoted an entire one-hour segment to the ideas behind Mavericks at Work, including a series of commentaries by Taylor and a fascinating panel discussion with three truly maverick innovators.

Mavericks at Work may be Bill's most recent project, but it's just the latest chapter in a career devoted to challenging conventional wisdom and showcasing the power of business at its best. As a cofounder and founding editor of Fast Company, he launched a magazine that won countless awards, earned a passionate following among executives and entrepreneurs around the world-and became a legendary business success. In less than six years, an enterprise that took shape in some borrowed office space in Harvard Square sold for $340 million.

Fast Company, which recently celebrated its tenth anniversary, has won just about every award there is to win in the magazine world, from "Startup of the Year" to "Magazine of the Year" to two coveted National Magazine Awards. In 2004, In recognition of Fast Company's impact on business, Bill was named "Champion of Workplace Learning and Performance" by the American Society of Training and Development. Past winners of the award include Jack Welch of GE and Fred Smith of FedEx.

Bill is an adjunct professor at Babson College, America's top-rated school for entrepreneurship, where he created the "Maverick Seminar at Babson College"-a unique academic program in which MBA students interact with the ideas and innovators creating the future of business. He is the co-author of three other books on strategy, leadership, and innovation: The Big Boys: Power and Position in American Business, No-Excuses Management, and Going Global.

Bill has published numerous essays and CEO interviews in the Harvard Business Review, and his monthly column, "Under New Management," ran in the SundayBusiness section of The New York Times. His new column, "Bill Taylor on Big Ideas," runs in The Guardian newspaper of London. A graduate of Princeton University and the MIT Sloan School of Management, he lives in Wellesley, Massachusetts, with his wife and two daughters.