ABOUT POLLY LABARRE


Polly LaBarre is a provocative and inspiring voice on business and innovation. A bestselling author, agenda-setting writer, speaker, and television correspondent, Polly has contributed to the business conversation in a range of forums for over a dozen years.

Her new book, Mavericks at Work: Why the Most Original Minds in Business Win is the product of a far-ranging, multi-year exploration of business at its best. Mavericks represents in-depth access to some of the world's most creative companies, courageous leaders, and disruptive experiments in reinventing the logic of how business gets done. The book offers a bold idea agenda and powerful next practices that amount to a business plan for the 21st century.

Just weeks after its release, Mavericks at Work became a New York Times bestseller, a Wall Street Journal bestseller and a BusinessWeek bestseller. The Economist named Mavericks a "Book of the Year" and called the book "a pivotal work in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Good to Great." Now in its seventh printing, Mavericks will be published in Europe, Australia, Japan, the rest of Asia, and Brazil. Mavericks has been the subject of high-profile articles in many top publications and featured extensively on television (from ABC's Good Morning America to CNBC to PBS's CEO Exchange). Other accolades include: "Top Ten Business Book of the Year" (amazon.com), "Top Ten Book on Innovation and Design" (BusinessWeek), and "2006 Picks of the Year in Business Books" (The Financial Times).

Polly brings her passion for identifying the big ideas and framing the big questions that will rule the future of business to her role as business and innovation correspondent for CNN. In her thrice-weekly segments on the network's "American Morning" and "Your Money" programs, Polly introduces viewers to a remarkable collection of inspiring leaders, innovative organizations, and exciting new ideas from the world of business and beyond.

As a member of the original team of Fast Company magazine, Polly played a central role in the remarkable success of a magazine that changed the way leaders at all levels think about working and winning-and earned a passionate following around the world. During her eight years as senior editor, Polly established herself as a storyteller with a fresh voice and a well-tuned ear for the themes that mark the economic moment. Her influential articles grapple with what it means to build great organizations and do work that matters-and introduce readers to a range of extraordinary characters and organizations.

She also contributed to the strategic development and content design of a range of Fast Company events. She co-hosted the magazine's signature Real Time conferences-agenda-setting gatherings where executives and entrepreneurs met to debate and shape the future-and helped to create a high-level roundtable series, "Fast Talk," which she moderated around the globe. She also designed and hosted Fast Company's first women's leadership event, Woman to Woman: Setting the Agenda for Business.

Polly has delivered keynote addresses around the world. She makes frequent appearances on television, including ABC's Good Morning America, NBC's Today, CNBC (most recently as a featured expert on the five-part "The Business of Innovation" series), and PBS's Nightly Business Report (where she has contributed a regular commentary). Her writing has appeared in a variety of publications, including Fast Company, The New York Times, IndustryWeek, Jungle magazine, and Business Management Review, China's leading monthly business magazine. She is a co-author of The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable (Portfolio, 2005).

Polly serves on the board of advisors of TakingITGlobal, the leading online community for connecting and empowering young people to make a difference in the world. As the editorial director of Women 2.0, a web documentary project currently in development with the Meserve-Kunhardt Foundation, she helped to create an innovative platform for chronicling women's movements around the globe and advancing the cause of gender equality. A graduate of Yale University, Polly lives in New York City.